Contact Biomedical Education

Dr. Beth Garvy, Professor

Associate Dean for Biomedical Education

beth.garvy@uky.edu

(859) 323-5043

Dr. Garvy oversees all aspects of the Office of Biomedical Education, including programs for postdoctoral scholars, COM graduate programs, and COM undergraduate educational efforts.

Dr. Michael Kilgore, Associate Professor

Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education and Research

m.kilgore@uky.edu

(859) 323-1821 

Dr. Kilgore supervises undergraduate education and research initiatives in the College.

Dr. Hollie Swanson, Professor

Director of Graduate Study, IBS Program

hollie.swanson@uky.edu

(859) 323-1463

Dr. Swanson is the faculty lead and liaison to the IBS Program. Dr. Swanson handles requests from students and mentors on advisement regarding academic issues and laboratory rotations.  

Dr. Melinda E. Wilson, Associate Professor

Director of Graduate Study, Master in Medical Science Program

melinda.wilson@uky.edu

(859) 323-9618

Dr. Wilson is the faculty lead and liaison to the MSMS Program.  Dr. Wilson handles requests from students and faculty concerning the academic aspects of the MSMS Program.

Dr. Ann Stowe, Associate Professor

Chair, Trainees in Research Advisory Committee (TRAC)

ann.stowe@uky.edu

In her role as Chair of TRAC, Dr. Stowe provides oversight to the various events and activities of the research trainees program. Dr. Stowe also chairs monthly meetings of the TRAC and leads initiatives throughout the College on behalf of all COM basic science trainees.

Jennifer Kennedy, Academic Coordinator and Educational IBU Manager

Office of Biomedical Education Manager

jkennedy1@uky.edu

(859) 323-0004

Bridget Szczapinski, Administrative Support Associate I

bridget.szczapinski@uky.edu

(859) 218-6745 

Stacy Smith, Research Administrative Coordinator

Research, Outreach & Career Development Specialist

ssmit7@uky.edu

(859) 396-7630

Stacy provides professional development opportunities to graduate students and postdocs in the College of Medicine. She also provides support for undergraduates and high school students who are looking for research opportunities in COM labs.

Dr. Zachary Williamson, Postdoctoral Scholar

zachary.williamson@uky.edu

(859) 218-6747

Zach currently works as a postdoctoral scholar in the Office of Biomedical Education with primary interests in understanding the trainee environment within the College of Medicine, enhancing internship opportunities for College of Medicine trainees, and trainee support.