Contact Biomedical Education

Dr. Beth Garvy, Professor

Associate Dean for Biomedical Education

beth.garvy@uky.edu

(859) 323-5043

Dr. Garvy oversees all aspects of the Office of Biomedical Education, including programs for postdoctoral scholars, COM graduate programs, and COM undergraduate educational efforts.

Dr. Michael Kilgore, Professor

Associate Dean for Undergraduate Education and Research

m.kilgore@uky.edu

(859) 323-1821 

Dr. Kilgore supervises undergraduate education and research initiatives in the College.

Dr. Hollie Swanson, Professor

Director of Graduate Study, IBS Program

hollie.swanson@uky.edu

(859) 323-1463

Dr. Swanson is the faculty lead and liaison to the IBS Program. Dr. Swanson handles requests from students and mentors on advisement regarding academic issues and laboratory rotations.  

Dr. Melinda E. Wilson, Professor

Director of Graduate Study, Master in Medical Science Program

melinda.wilson@uky.edu

(859) 323-9618

Dr. Wilson is the faculty lead and liaison to the MSMS Program.  Dr. Wilson handles requests from students and faculty concerning the academic aspects of the MSMS Program.

Dr. Ann Stowe, Professor

Chair, Trainees in Research Advisory Committee (TRAC)

ann.stowe@uky.edu

In her role as Chair of TRAC, Dr. Stowe provides oversight to the various events and activities of the research trainees program. Dr. Stowe also chairs monthly meetings of the TRAC and leads initiatives throughout the College on behalf of all COM basic science trainees.

Jennifer Kennedy, Academic Coordinator and Educational IBU Manager

Office of Biomedical Education Manager

jkennedy1@uky.edu

(859) 323-0004

Bridget Szczapinski, Administrative Support Associate I

bridget.szczapinski@uky.edu

(859) 218-6745 

Stacy Smith, Scientist I

Program Development Liaison for Undergraduate Biomedical Education

ssmit7@uky.edu

(859) 218-2879

Ms. Smith provides support to the Associate Dean for Biomedical Education in the development of the forthcoming  Undergraduate curriculum in Biomedical Education offered through the University of Kentucky College of Medicine.